Daily Archives: January 29, 2015

Northiam, Sussex

Northiam is a village and civil parish in the Rother District of the administrative county of East Sussex, within historic Sussex, England. The village is located thirteen miles (21 km) north of Hastings in the valley of the River Rother. The main road that passes through it is the A28 which goes to Canterbury and Hastings.

Well, I did it…

I gave a reading of ‘Calon Lân’ at my maternal grandmother’s funeral service in Somerset. As one of her sisters had died just before Christmas, and both her (Welsh-speaking) daughters are teachers who didn’t feel they could take more time off work, I was the only person attending my grandmother’s service who felt confident and comfortable enough to give a reading in Welsh. The English translation of ‘Calon Lân’ is ‘Pure Heart’ and the Welsh and English words are posted below:

Nid wy’n gofyn bywyd moethus,
Aur y byd na’i berlau mân:
Gofyn wyf am galon hapus,
Calon onest, calon lân.Calon lân yn llawn daioni,
Tecach yw na’r lili dlos:
Dim ond calon lân all ganu
Canu’r dydd a chanu’r nos.

Pe dymunwn olud bydol,
Hedyn buan ganddo sydd;
Golud calon lân, rinweddol,
Yn dwyn bythol elw fydd.

Chorus

Hwyr a bore fy nymuniad
Gwyd i’r nef ar adain cân
Ar i Dduw, er mwyn fy Ngheidwad,
Roddi i mi galon lân.

Chorus

I don’t ask for a luxurious life,
the world’s gold or its fine pearls,
I ask for a happy heart,
an honest heart, a pure heart.A pure heart full of goodness
Is fairer than the pretty lily,
None but a pure heart can sing,
Sing in the day and sing in the night.

If I wished for worldly wealth,
It would swiftly go to seed;
The riches of a virtuous, pure heart
Will bear eternal profit.

Chorus

Evening and morning, my wish
Rising to heaven on the wing of song
For God, for the sake of my Saviour,
To give me a pure heart.

Chorus